Tags

, , , ,

I went to Shul this Shabbat eve with a bit of discomfort. I was hoping that C.G. would not be there. As I entered I saw Trudy with the team that is repairing the bathrooms, which don’t need to be repaired. After they repair the bathrooms which don’t need to be repaired, they will they replant the gardent which doesn’t need to be replanted.

The Portapotties are not appetising. This is the 2nd week of their ‘reign’. Hopefully, the last.

I didn’t see C.G. and I heard from Ratty that a word had been given that he would not come…then came. That C.G.’s word means nothing is not a surprise.

Pinchus was in an accident, he wasn’t hurt but the car damaged, so he would not be there. I didn’t see Torn Talit or Vic or Tanya, and the organist had Chik-V.

As the time ticked and it was time to begin, Ratty was on the Bimah and I felt I was in shul.

Binns had brought his son and soon Karen and Ibraham were there.

Ratty gave a great Sermon.

I went home feeling that I’d ‘gotten’ something from being at Shul.

This was due to Ratty, his sister, and the absence of the Entitled.

Shul is shul when C.G. and the Entitled aren’t there. People talk to each other, they respond to the service, to the singing to the psalms, they stand and sit with a commitment.

When C.G. is there, going through the motions, when the Entitled are swishing themselves about as if they own the place, when Pharaoh is looking down his nose as if he isn’t a pretentious failure living off inherited money, it isn’t shul, it’s some kind of meeting.

But when they’re gone…

Doesn’t C.G. realise that no one wants him here?